After several years of suspension, ICOMOS Canada is pleased to announce the revival of the Jacques Dalibard Award, which will be attibuted during the Annual General Assembly.

The award was created as a tribute to Jacques Dalibard (1935-2007), founder and first president of ICOMOS Canada, who distinguished himself by his exceptional leadership in the field of conservation, both in Canada and abroad, and was the award’s first recipient in 2002. Since then, several pioneers of heritage conservation in Canada have received the award:

  • Herb Stovel (2008),
  • Robin Letellier (2007 – presented posthumously),
  • Robert Grenier(2006),
  • Francois and Renée LeBlanc (2005),
  • Martin Weaver (2004),
  • Christina Cameron (2003),
  • Jacques Dalibard (2002).

In consultation with the Dalibard family, the selection criteria and award were revised in 2018 to reflect Jacques’ commitment in fostering new generations of practitioners. The award is now attributed annually to emerging professionals (in the fields of  architecture, landscape architecture, archaeology, museology, planning, etc.), citizens or residents of Canada, who have distinguished themselves through an emerging body of work or through a specific project, demonstrating leadership in the promotion of cultural heritage at the local, national or international level. The recipient will be invited to present on their work during the annual meeting.The new Jacques Dalibard Award was attributed to:

For further details regarding the criteria, requirements for the nomination package and award, consult the award’s TERMS OF REFERENCE, by clicking here. The APPLICATION FORM is available here.

ICOMOS Canada calls upon its members and friends to put nominations forward by march of the current year (consult our news feed for the official deadline), by submitting the nomination package to the ICOMOS Canada secretariat at the following address: [email protected].