After several years of suspension, ICOMOS Canada is pleased to announce the revival of the Jacques Dalibard Award, which will be attributed once again in May 2018, during the Annual General Assembly.

The award was created as a tribute to Jacques Dalibard (1935-2007), founder and first president of ICOMOS Canada, who distinguished himself by his exceptional leadership in the field of conservation, both in Canada and abroad, and was the award’s first recipient in 2002. Since then, several pioneers of heritage conservation in Canada have received the award:

  • Christina Cameron (2003)
  • Martin Weaver (2004),
  • Francois and Renée LeBlanc (2005),
  • Robert Grenier(2006),
  • Robin Letellier (2007 – presented posthumously)
  • Herb Stovel (2008).

In consultation with the Dalibard family, the selection criteria and award have been revised to reflect Jacques’ commitment in fostering new generations of practitioners. The award will now be attributed annually to mid-career individuals, citizens or residents of Canada under 50 years of age, who have distinguished themselves through their body of work or through a specific project, demonstrating leadership in the promotion of cultural heritage. The recipient will be invited to present on their work during the annual meeting. For further details regarding the criteria, requirements for the nomination package and award, consult the award’s TERMS OF REFERENCE, by clicking here.

ICOMOS Canada calls upon its members and friends to put nominations forward before March 31st of the current year, by submitting the nomination package to the ICOMOS Canada secretariat at the following address: